Companion Cubes and Spock and Zelda – Oh My!

WELCOME!  Today is a brand new day and it happens to be a Fangirl Friday!  Now, usually, I’ll try to choose one fandom to squee over on these days, but today… I was poking around Etsy and decided to search for cell phone charms.

I did a post on cell phone charms a while back, but it was more… almost informational.  Since that post, I’ve absolutely fallen in love with the cute little buggers.  You can personalize almost anything with these charms — not just cell phones.  Handheld gaming systems (like the DS and PSP) have a place to hook them, you can attach them to zippers on bags or clothes, you can clip them on purse straps or keyrings.  I’m even using a bunch of them on my bouquets for the wedding!

So today, I bring you fourteen cell phone charms in thirteen images from twelve sellers on Etsy.  In fact, we’ll sort of view these as the twelve kingdoms of fandom, because I believe there are twelve fandoms represented here as well!


Cyathula’s Shop

Here we see Calcifer from the Miyazaki film – Howl’s Moving Castle.  I LOVE the detailing in this, and it captures Calcifer’s personality perfectly.  Look at the etching in the wood and the little bits of lighter orange along his “feet” and “hands”.  He is absolutely precious, and Cyathula did a fantastic job on him!


Until It Ends Studios

This little mushroom is similar to the Poison mushrooms in the Mario games.  Until It Ends studios did a crazy-good job on this little mushroom.  The spots are perfectly round and the paints settle perfectly on the mushroom’s head.  And the best part?  The shop offers these charms in EVERY COLOR OF THE RAINBOW!  The obvious of red and green are available, as well as blues, yellows, and even orange!  I think I’m in love.


Ikitzo’s Shop

Now, I could have put up ten or fifteen images of cell phone charms from Ikitzo.  However, I didn’t want to fill up the entire post with her amazing creations, so I whittled them down to these two.  (Which is cheating just a little, considering one of the images features two charms.)  On the top, we have Spock from the science fiction series Star Trek in all his Vulcan, blushing glory.  And on the bottom are my two favorite video game elves, Zelda and Link from the Legend of Zelda game series.  Just look at the detail on these!  Spoc has some serious eyebrows AND the proper insignia on his blue shirt.  Zelda is wearing earrings and a lovely gold headpiece while Link holds a tiny polymer sword and an adorable shield!  Check this shop out for more, including Avatar: The Last Airbender!


Akaii Designs

Portal was a video game to change the gaming experience.  It was a huge success and has garnered almost a cult-like following.  I still remember at my small, college Convention, we had signs of cake with arrows pointing nowhere, informing us that the cake was a lie.  However, this adorable Weighted Companion Cube charm is far from being a lie and can be purchased from Akaii’s shop!  Just make sure you don’t incinerate it.  It is your friend, after all…


Angry Owl

When you’re already the very best, why not show it off?  The Angry Owl shop has this perfect set of Pokemon Badges from the Kanto age of Pokemon.  (Also known to many as the Only age of Pokemon, or the Golden Age, but they’re just crabby old farts.)  The detail on these charms is really impressive for the Kanto badges, and I especially love the Soul Badge (the little pink heart).  Head on over to the shop and show off your mad training skills!


Mooglet P. Bear’s Fantasmogoric Shop O’ Wonders

Who remembers Animal Crossing?  Perhaps one of the best games from the Gamecube era (at least in my opinion), I spent hours playing my copy of Animal Crossing.  And this little charm is absolutely precious.  Fashioned after one of the fossils from the Animal Crossing game, it has already been cleaned off of the dirt from the dig.  The professional, perfect spiral and tiny star and dot are made from a glow-in-the-dark material.  The details are just stunning.  Notice the tiny speckles in the blue-purple background, and that TINY little bell added for a bit of extra oomph.  You’d best snap this one up before I do!


Angie’s Store

I squee over Harry Potter all the time.  In fact, there are really only a few things out there that I love as much as Harry Potter — Ben being one of them.  (Hello Kitty being another…)  Because of that, I was super excited to find this perfect little charm of a wizard’s hat with a “WWHD” plaque.  WWHD is a reminder to ask yourself “What Would Harry Do?”  The detailing and craftsmanship on this charm is absolutely wonderful, and when clipped to your DS or cell phone, you’ll always have that magical reminder of the world of Harry Potter.


Sonaxiom’s Shop

This adorable little kitten is a sort of obscure figure from the insanely popular and insanely adorable anime, Lucky Star.  This little charm has the most precious face I’ve ever seen, and the tail curves around so perfectly.  What is perhaps most impressive is that the ears and face are all so nice and even.  I’d be afraid to have this in my collection because I might huggle it to death!


Supernova Designs

I KNEW there was a good use for those tiny dice I’ve been collecting!  I actually have this set of blue dice floating around my giant dice bag, and I would have never thought to turn one into a precious cell phone charm.  This charm is absolutely amazing for any gamer, male or female.  Blue is such a gender neutral color now that this would make a perfect gift for any Dungeons and Dragons, Star Wars Saga, or World of Darkness player!  Clip it to your phone!  Or better yet, to your dice bag!!


Yeller Crakka’s Charm Kiosk

Yeller Crakka has SO many adorable charms including Triforce charms and potion bottles and fairies and Mario stars and Pacman… But when I saw this Metroid charm, I fell in love.  And if you’re a little nervous about having this pint-sized protector outside and close to your hands, it is also offered contained in a perfect little bottle!  No missing fingers there!


Panduhmonium

Panduhmonium’s shop is full of adorable things.  But this little charm is absolutely squee-worthy.  It’s simply called an “angel wing” on the shop, but when I saw it, I was reminded of the little wings that one of the female characters from Kanon wears on her backpack.  It’s cute and not so nerdy that you’d be instantly found out (unless the person telling on you has also watched Kanon)!


Pomegranate PANIC!

Last but not least, this itty bitty charm from Pomegranate Panic.  The detail on this tiny charm is absolutely astounding, from the analog stick to the directional pad to the perfectly colored spread of A-B-X-Y buttons!  The detail work is so unbelievable because of how small this charm really is.  Plus, it’s an Xbox controller.  How cool is that?!

Well, here’s hoping you found a new seller to Heart on Etsy, or perhaps even a new charm to snap up before I get some more paychecks to get them before you!  So this ends the first of the new Fangirl Fridays, and I promise, next time, I’ll focus in on ONE fandom!

Leave a Reply

