Han and Leia Kokeshi

Welcome to the 2nd edition of Squee-Me Monday.  Over the past few days, I’ve been in full-on wedding mode.  I’ve been making lists and planning and trying to make decisions.  I’ve got my dress and my veil and I’ve chosen a hairstyle and some of the ceremony music.  Now I’m starting to get serious about the cake and photographer, because those two things need to be taken care of as quickly as possible.  With less than nine months to the day, I need to get a photographer booked really quickly, and the cake can’t be too far behind.

So today I was scrounging the internet, looking for something that made me squee enough to put up here.  I found a couple of things that seemed pretty okay, but with the wedding on my brain, everything else still seemed pretty average.

And then Etsy proved to deliver a delicious gem.  I was doing some random searches and trying to decide what would make for a good post when THIS came up!

Han and Leia 1

Han and Leia 2

Han and Leia 3

These precious little things are slightly reminiscent of Russian nesting dolls, but are really Kokeshi dolls.  Kokeshi dolls are handmade from wood, have a simple trunk and an enlarged head with a few thin, painted lines to define the face. Traditionally, the body has a floral design painted in red, black, and sometimes yellow, and covered with a layer of wax. One characteristic of kokeshi dolls is their lack of arms or legs. The bottom is marked with the signature of the artist.

These two are made by Etsy artist temple7e also known as Craig Galentine.  His Kokeshi Clan on Esty have gained a lot of acclaim, and this pair is currently selling for about $50.  The absolutely precious Princess-Inspired and Pilot-Inspired Kokeshi set is so precious I can hardly contain myself!

I’m seriously considering these as my cake topper for the wedding.  Not only nerdy, but also Asian.  <3

Leave a Reply

