Excuse Me While I Dig in the Couch Cushions…

Oh Ebay, you cruel Mistress.  Honestly.  I should know better then to peruse things like Ebay, Amazon, and Etsy.  Every time I do, I find something I want.  And when I find something I want, I start scrounging for loose change and any spare cent I can find to irresponsibly throw my money down the fandom drain.

Today’s irresistible lure?  A replica of the Marauder’s Map from the Harry Potter series.

Now, let it be known that I am a complete and utter hopeless Harry Potter fangirl.  Not so much as that I feel the series has absolutely no flaws, but I do proudly admit to the fact that I’ve read the first four books in the series well over fifty times during my life.  And while my knowledge of the series has gone a little adlebrained, I hope to do another series re-read, thus regaining my formidable Harry Potter trivia prowess.

Anyway, to the image.

Marauder's Map

I know the image is disappointingly small.  But if you follow the link, you’ll be able to take the item in in all it’s glory.  This truly is a marvelous piece.  The Marauder’s Map is a very important part of the Harry Potter series, and the detail on this one is sublime.  The way it unfolds is just as Harry can be seen doing in the movies, and the entire school and grounds are mapped out.  Thus, not only is this a fantastic collector’s item for anyone who enjoys the books or the movies, it is an extremely helpful tool for anyone who writes fanfiction or wants to become intimately familiar with the layout of Hogwarts and the grounds.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I should probably clean up all this nerdgasm squee and look for more nickles in the furniture…

2 thoughts on “Excuse Me While I Dig in the Couch Cushions…

  1. “it is an extremely helpful tool for anyone who writes fanfiction or wants to become intimately familiar with the layout of Hogwarts and the grounds.”

    But weren’t the school grounds famous for constantly changing? I doubt this Marauder’s Map would do that. :P

  2. That would be where you are wrong, my silly man. Maybe if you read the books enough, you’d know that there are only a very limited number of rooms (in fact, the only one I’m currently thinking of is the Room of Requirement) that actually changed locations.

    As for the “changing stairs” in the movies, that was NOT a part of the books. In the books, there were merely stairs with a trick one midway up, or sets of stairs that actually led nowhere, etc.

Leave a Reply

